

ARKANSAS SOYBEAN ASSOCIATION 1501 N Pierce, Suite 100 Little Rock, Arkansas 72207 501.666.1418 (phone) 501.666.2510 (fax) swsoy@aristotle.net (email)

Soybean Yield Contest Winners Announced

Little Rock, AR (December 18, 2014) - The Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board and the Arkansas Soybean Association are pleased to announce the winners of the 2014 Grow for the Green Soybean Yield Contest. The contest divided state soybean producers into 8 groups, 7 geographic regions and 1 all state conventional (non-gmo) category. Cash prizes will be awarded to the top 3 in each division achieving a minimum of 60 bu/A at the Annual meeting of the Arkansas Soybean Association on January 27, 2014. The meeting will be held at the Grand Prairie Center in Stuttgart, AR.

We want to commend our 3 producers this year who reached the 100 bushel/acre milestone. The Race for 100 began in 2007 and in 2013, three producers reached the goal. In 2014, David Bennett from Chicot County set a new state record harvesting 112.012 bu/a with Asgrow 4632RR. Matt Miles again harvested over 100 with 100.609 bu/a after planting Pioneer 45T11R. Sherrie Kay Miles planted Pioneer 48T53R to beat out her husband with 106.499 bu/a. These are the newest members of the Arkansas 100 Bushel Club.

Congratulations to the following winners. We appreciate the participation of all the producers entered in the contest and the sharing of their production methods and secrets with the rest of Arkansas.

					Seed	Final Yield
Division	Rank	Name	County	Variety	Trait	(bu/ac)
1-Northeast Delta	1	Mike Hook	Craighead	Pioneer 46T21	RR	98.917
	2	Casey Hook	Craighead	Pioneer 46T21	RR	97.697
	3	Paul Bingham	Poinsett	Pioneer 46T21	RR	96.867
2-Northeast	1	Brad French	Randolph	Pioneer 46T21	RR	91.939
	2	Karl Garner	Cross	Asgrow 5332	RR	91.665
	3	Blake Goodman	Clay	Pioneer 47T36	RR	90.797
3-White River Basin	1	Perry Galloway	Woodruff	Pioneer 47T36	RR	99.630
	2	Dennis Haigwood	Jackson	Asgrow 4632	RR	92.556
		Kyle Fuller/Ray Fuller				
	3	Farms	Monroe	Pioneer 47T36	RR	90.704
4- Grand Prairie	1	Jason Berry	Arkansas	Asgrow 4632	RR	99.330
	2	Heath/Kirk Whitmore	Arkansas	Asgrow 4632	RR	95.198
	3	Dow Brantley	Lonoke	Pioneer 47T36	RR	94.585

5-East Central Delta	1 2 3	Mike Taylor Jr Gere Carnathan Chase Yancey	Phillips Phillips Phillips	Asgrow 4632 Asgrow 4632 Asgrow 4232	RR RR RR	96.081 94.391 92.754
	5	chase rancey	1 mmps	113g10w +252	int	72.134
6-Southeast	1	David Bennett	Chicot	Asgrow 4632	RR	112.012
	2	Sherrie Miles	Ashley	Pioneer 48T53	RR	106.499
	3	Matt Miles	Desha	Pioneer 45T11	RR	100.609
7- Western	1	Nick Moore	Conway	Pioneer 94Y70	RR	75.202
	2	Lucas Moore		Armor 46R42	RR	64.290
8 - Conventional	1	Jason Smith	Desha	Armor 49-C3		76.557
	2	Will Nicholson	Cross	Emerge 4993		73.390
	3	Stan Haigwood	Jackson	Armor 49-C3		72.654

The Grow for the Green Yield Soybean Yield Challenge is funded by the Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board using producer checkoff funds. The contests are administered by the Arkansas Soybean Association in cooperation with the University Of Arkansas Division Of Agriculture. May thanks to the county extension staff and independent consultants who help producers achieve these yields and serve as harvest judges. Complete contest harvest information is available on the websites of the Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board and the Arkansas Soybean Association. This file contains production information on contests since 1999.

For additional information on the soybean yield contests in Arkansas, please contact the Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board (<u>www.themiraclebean.com</u>) or Arkansas Soybean Association at 501-666-1418 or <u>swsoy@aristotle.net</u>. Information will also be available on both websites <u>www.arkansassoybean.com</u> and <u>www.themiraclebean.com</u>.

###