ARKANSAS SOYBEAN ASSOCIATION



1501 N Pierce, Suite 100 Little Rock, Arkansas 72207 501.666.1418 (phone) 501.666.2510 (fax) swsoy@aristotle.net (email)

Soybean Yield Contest Winners Announced

Little Rock, AR (January 9, 2017) - The Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board and the Arkansas Soybean Association are pleased to announce the winners of the 2016 Grow for the Green Soybean Yield Contest. The contest divided state soybean producers into 8 groups, 7 geographic regions and 1 all state conventional (non-GMO) category. Cash prizes will be awarded to the top 3 in each division achieving a minimum of 60 Bu/A at the Annual Meeting of the Arkansas Soybean Association on January 24, 2017. The meeting will be held at the ASU Student Center (7648 Victory Blvd, Newport AR 72112) in Newport.

We want to commend all of the 95 soybean producers who entered the 2016 Grow for the Green Soybean Yield Contest and we are proud to announce that 6 of these producers reached and exceeded the 100 bushel/acre milestone in 2016. The Race for 100 yield contest began in 2007 and in 2013, three producers reached the goal. In 2016, James Wray from Poinsett County set a new record of 118.802 bu/a (Pioneer P47T36R), his father Eddie Wray harvested a plot of 109.701 bu/a (Pioneer P47T36R), and his mother Barbara Annette Wray harvested 109.843 bu/a. (Pioneer P46T21R). Michael Taylor Jr. from Helena produced 101.319 bu/a growing Asgrow AG47X6. In South Arkansas Martin Henry from Dumas grew Armor 48D24 which produced a yield of 113.888 bu/a and Layne Miles from McGehee grew NK S47-K5 with a yield of 100.994 bu/a.

Congratulations to the following winners of the 2016 Grow for the Green Soybean Yield Contest. We appreciate the participation of all the producers entered in the contest and the sharing of their production methods and secrets with the rest of the Arkansas soybean industry.

	Northeast Delta		Variety & Technology	Bu/a
1	James Wray	Poinsett	Pioneer P47T36R RR	118.802
2	Barbara Annette Wray	Poinsett	Pioneer P46T21R RR	109.843
3	James E. Wray Jr.	Poinsett	Pioneer P47T36R RR	109.701
	Northeast			
1	Brad French	Randolph	Pioneer 93Y92 RR	90.398
2	Chris Vanaman	Cross	Armor 48-D24 RR2X	89.755
3	Brian Mack	Poinsett	Armor 46-D08 RR2X	88.780

	White River Basin			
1	Perry Galloway	Woodruff	Pioneer P41T33R RR	97.092
2	Terry Fuller	Monroe	Pioneer P47T36R RR	83.317
3	Jerry Fuller	Monroe	Pioneer P47T36R RR	80.278
	Central & Grand Prairie			
1	Drew Counce	Arkansas	NK S47-K5 RR2Y	95.177
2	Regan Counce	Arkansas	NK S47-K5 RR2Y	93.763
3	Jason Berry	Arkansas	Armor 49-R56 RR2Y	91.798
	East Central Delta			
1	Mike Taylor Jr.	Phillips	Asgrow AG47X6 RR2X/SR	101.319
2	Neil Culp	Phillips	Asgrow AG47X6 RR2X/SR	95.545
3	Chris Carnathan	Phillips	Asgrow AG4632 RR2Y	94.082
	Southeast Delta			
1	Martin Henry	Desha	Armor 48-D24 RR2X	113.888
2	Layne Miles	Chicot	NK S47-K5 RR2Y	100.994
3	Mark Welty	Chicot	Dyna-Gro 31RY45 RR2Y	92.025
	Western Portion of State			
1	Nicholas Moore	Conway	Terral Rev 49R94 RR	70.589
2	Lucas Moore	Conway	Armor 46-R42 RR2Y	67.489
3	Todd Hart	Conway	Pioneer P49T31L LL	67.401
	Conventional Varieties			
1	Nelson Crow	Drew	UA 5612	73.178
2	Mark Nix	Cross	eMerge e4892s	63.052

The Grow for the Green Yield Soybean Yield Challenge is funded by the Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board using producer checkoff funds. The contests are administered by the Arkansas Soybean Association in cooperation with the University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture. May thanks to the county extension staff and independent consultants who help producers achieve these yields and serve as harvest judges. Complete contest harvest information is available on the websites of the Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board and the Arkansas Soybean Association. This file contains production information on contests since 1999.

For additional information on the soybean yield contests in Arkansas, please contact the Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board (www.themiraclebean.com) or Arkansas Soybean Association at 501-666-1418 or swsoy@aristotle.net. Information will also be available on both websites www.arkansassoybean.com and www.themiraclebean.com.